Before Coffee, on Friday Morning

Wake, wake to feed, minds and

small pitter pattering –

Sweet things reside in warmth

of new sheets, love,

My love, my beauty, fading snoozes,

I hate to leave thee.

Growing hard, sharpening fast,

jumping to gray skies,

What a dim shine appears for me.

Nevermore,

will we wear down to nothing,

Held together by tiny strings

of the heart,

Commiserate with me, how

cold feet caress,

Creepy hair makes its way across

faces, heavy bodies feel the ache of dawn,

Leave be, for today,

for tomorrow, leave be.

Leave a Reply

