Genesis

The sun broke this morning

what should have been dawn turned to a cry

for upkeep. From the streets it was audible,

loud and clear; ringing all the way to my core

There was a gnawing in my belly

but the gloom held me down as the earth shook with laughter

Darkness kept me still as I tried to bargain

My voice fell flat but I could hear rain outside the window

At least I know that we’re still turning

 

 

 

One thought on “Genesis

  1. I feel this.
    a cry for upkeep indeed.
    A cry for change.
    Awakening.
    Metamorphosis.
    Or at least a new flavor to the day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

